Weston Green History
The manor of Weston was recorded in the Domesday Survey of 1086 and was held by Barking Abbey. It continued as the property of the abbey until it was bought by Henry VIII shortly before the monasteries were dissolved in the 1530s.
In 1540 Henry leased Weston to John Baker and in 1801 it was sold by the Crown to William Speer. The manorial rights were held by the Speer family into the 20th century. Weston formed part of the parish of Thames Ditton and in 1901 Weston Green was provided with a chapel of ease connected with the main parish church of St Nicholas.
Weston Green is still an attractive open space with a number of fine 17th and 18th century houses and cottages, some with traditional weatherboarding, clustered around the edges of the green. To west of the green is Marley Pond and beside it stands the whitewashed modern church of All Saints. It was designed by Sir Edward Maufe in 1939 and is certainly a most impressive church when viewed from across the pond. The architectural historians, Nairn and Pevsner, described the inside of the church as an 'impressive'. Maufe was also the architect of Guildford Cathedral.
Esher Station opened adjacent to Weston Green in 1838 and was originally named 'Ditton Marsh'. However, there was little new development around Weston Green until the 20th century.
In the early 1930s the Hampton Court Way was constructed across the green to the appropriately named 'S[c]illy Isles, a cluster of roundabouts and traffic islands, at the end of the Kingston Bypass. Despite this, Weston Green has retained much character and many fascinating hidden corners.