Chobham or ' Ceabba's Ham' formed part of the estates granted to Chertsey Abbey, c.675 A.D., by Frithuwald, sub-king of Surrey. The abbey still held the manor in 1086 at the time of the Domesday Survey, which also records a church and a chapel at Chobham. There are still elements in the parish church of St Laurence which date from the 11th century.
There was also a substantial manor house here which was improved and moated by Abbot John de Rutherwyk of Chertsey (c.1307-46). It became known as Chobham Park and was ceded to Henry VIII by Abbot John Cordrey in 1535. This was just two years before Chertsey Abbey was dissolved by the king, when the whole of the manor of Chobham became his property. Henry visited Chobham in 1538 and again in 1542.
In 1558 Queen Mary sold Chobham Park to Nicholas Heath, her chancellor, and Archbishop of York, and Heath continued to live there until his death in 1578. The property then passed through many hands. Today the site is occupied by Chobham Park Farm but parts of the moat survive.
Chobham has retained a large number of fine timber-framed houses, some of which date back to the 14th century. Despite considerable residential development in recent times, Chobham retains a unique village atmosphere.